I Don’t Care If Liking Avocados Makes Me Basic, I’m Still Going To Eat Them

Anything that becomes mainstream has a tendency to receive backlash for being “overrated” or “basic”. This happens to everything, from musicians (looking at you, Halsey), TV shows (Friends), clothing brands (Forever 21, ASOS –the list goes on and on) and even certain foods. That’s right, food.

One of my favorite things to eat is avocado toast. Sure, it can be overpriced on occasion–which is obviouslywhy millennials are so broke–and the green fruit has an unfortunate correlation with Mexico’s deforestation problem, but guess what? I still love it, and I’m not the only one. The dish has become a staple at any (decent) restaurant that serves brunch, and I’m sure you’ve seen at least half a dozen photos of pastel plates with mounds of bright green avocado on your Instagram feed in the past week alone.

However, any time I buy, order, or even eat avocado toast, I can’t help but feel insecure about my meal of choice. The crowd I hang out with is extremely accepting of my avocado addiction, but on occasion I’ll hear a scoff or see a slightly judgmental look while I’m ordering. I do my best to ignore it, but the judgment can even be found on the internet. Especially on social media with people demanding an end to the avocado era–a prospect I can’t help but dread.

Why can’t people mind their own business and let people enjoy what they want? Who cares if it’s overrated? Who cares if it’s unreasonably popular? As long as my avocado addiction isn’t hurting anyone–besides my own wallet and waistline–I don’t think people should have a say on whether or not I should be allowed to eat it. And I especially don’t think I should be insulted for liking it.

Let’s not forget: if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Originally published on FlockU
Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

